Week Eight: Dorm Decor

Living in a tiny apartment, you learn how to use the resources you have to decorate your space. As a visual person, I love for my surroundings to make me feel at home, peaceful, and comfortable. To decorate our small space, I used a few materials for lots of impact.

1. Small birdcages hanging from the ceiling (found in the $1 basket at Michael’s) feel whimsical and inspiring.
2. If you own collection of sorts, utilize it. I collect mugs and my roommates love them too, so all of our mugs sit on the windowsill waiting to be filled with coffee or tea.
3. Sometimes finding filling a large, white wall can seem daunting. I brought some decorative paper to Chicago, so I made a headboard of sorts above my bunk bed. Love.
4. Twinkle lights always make a room better. And, they work as great soft light for evenings.
5. Another use of a collection: jewelry. I hung mine from a piece of left over cardboard and thumb tacks. Simple, but functional reuse.

Any other decor solutions for small spaces or small budgets (or both)?
Enjoy!

Love,
Kylie

This entry was posted in Chicago, Inspiration, Photos, Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week Eight: Dorm Decor

  1. Pingback: A Semester in Review | love, kylie

Leave a Reply

