Week 11

Here… but soon there.
Not quite there… but still here.

This is an awkward spot, you see.
When I came back from spring break, something shifted.
My roommate wrote above the sink: “Welcome back to your home away from home.”
I smiled, deeply appreciating her and her warm welcome. But, something shifted.
For others, they spent their spring break at home and came back to school – their home away from home.
For me, I went on a sort of blessed vacation and came back to the place I now call my home.
Neither perspective is right, or better.
I just realize that, in a sense, I’m all in.
All in.
In a risky, move-a-thousand-miles-away-don’t-see-anything/anyone-familiar-for-months, kind of way.
My room is my room and, while I’m here, Moody is home.
And that is a good, good thing.
But in five weeks my world moves all over again… again.

Here… but soon there.
Not quite there… but still here.

This is an awkward spot, you see.
But I wouldn’t choose to be anywhere else.
For now.

Week 11.

Love,
Kylie

This entry was posted in Chicago, Thoughts, Weekly. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 11

  1. Your writing is very fascinating. I’ll be honest, I’m really not a very poetic/artsy person very much, but the structure and flow of this post is just really good.

    I’m glad that you’re enjoying Chicago. Your reflection on transition is appreciated.

  2. Pingback: A Semester in Review | love, kylie

Leave a comment